The Best Art TV Alternatives
Samsung, Hisense and Blackdove each sell a screen that shows art. Layer sells the art, and built a display for it: generative work rendered live, with the artists paid every second it is seen.
Prices and features last verified October 22, 2026
Four ways to put art on a wall by subscription. Samsung Art Store is $4.99 a month for still images on a Frame TV. Hisense CanvasTV includes free artworks in Art Mode. Blackdove streams video art to a Samsung-made screen for $99 a month. Layer Curation is $99 a month for generative art rendered live on the Layer Canvas, with the artists paid for every second it is viewed. The first three sell a screen with art on it. Layer sells the art, and built the screen for it.
Key takeaways
- Samsung Art Store is a library of still images on a television, at $4.99 a month on a Frame TV.
- Hisense CanvasTV is a television with free artworks in Art Mode and a teak frame included.
- Blackdove streams video art to screens, rectangular or square, in a range of sizes.
- Meural shows still images on a smaller photo-frame-class display.
- Layer Curation runs generative work live on a museum-grade square built for nothing else, with artists paid per second viewed.
Which should you choose?
- Choose the Samsung Frame if you want a TV that shows art when it is off. The 2026 65-inch is $1,499.99 at regular price, and the Art Store is $4.99 a month for over 4,000 works.
- Choose Hisense CanvasTV if you want the same idea at a lower running cost: free artworks in Art Mode and a teak frame in the box.
- Choose Blackdove if you want moving video art on a large screen now, from $1,999 for its 32-inch canvas.
- Choose the Layer Canvas if you want generative art rendered live on a square built only for art, and can wait for it to ship in mid-2027. It costs more than the others, at $6,999 plus tax.
| Layer Curation | Samsung Art Store | Blackdove | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly cost | Layer Curation$99 | Samsung Art Store$4.99 | Blackdove$99 ($1,188 a year) |
| What the art is | Layer CurationGenerative works rendered live, plus moving and still pieces | Samsung Art StoreStill images, 4,000+ | BlackdoveVideo artworks, thousands |
| Included without paying | Layer CurationCuration is the product | Samsung Art Store30 pieces a month | BlackdoveOne year with a canvas |
| Curation | Layer CurationHand-selected; Art Intelligence sequences to the room | Samsung Art StoreBrowse and pick | BlackdoveBrowse and schedule |
| Interaction | Layer CurationAdjust the work; save variants | Samsung Art StoreNone | BlackdoveNone |
| Artist payment | Layer CurationRoyalties per second viewed | Samsung Art StoreNot stated | BlackdoveLicensing; some works sold as NFTs |
| Display | Layer CurationLayer Canvas, $6,999, art only | Samsung Art StoreFrame TV, 65-inch $1,499.99 | BlackdoveSamsung-made canvas, $1,999 to $8,500 |
What is an art subscription?
An art subscription is a monthly fee for a changing collection of work on a screen, the way a music subscription is a fee for a changing catalogue of songs. The screen is the speaker. What differs between services is what counts as the art, whether it is chosen for you or by you, whether it can change while you look at it, and whether the artist is paid when it is on your wall.
What does Samsung Art Store offer?
$4.99 a month for over 4,000 artworks on a Frame TV, with 30 free pieces a month through Art Store Streams. The 2026 Frame is a QLED 4K television, $1,499.99 at 65 inches at regular price, sold with a slim-fit wall mount and bezels sold separately. Art Store also runs on select other Samsung TVs. See the full Layer vs Samsung Frame comparison.
What does Hisense CanvasTV offer?
Hisense sells the CanvasTV in 50, 55, 65, 75 and 85 inches with what it calls a Hi-Matte Display, a teak frame included, and an Art Mode for showing your own images. Hisense says Art Mode includes free artworks, and its own Facebook post puts the number at over 1,000. Its product pages list no art subscription. It competes with the Frame on price.
What does Blackdove offer?
Blackdove streams video art to its own Samsung-engineered displays, from $1,999 at 32 inches to $8,500 for the 60-inch square on its product page, with frames sold separately. It also sells a separate $12,300 Generative Media Player for works that run as code. The Patron subscription is $1,188 a year, which is $99 a month, and the first year is included with a canvas. New pieces are added weekly and some are sold as NFTs. See the full Layer Canvas vs Blackdove comparison.
What does Meural offer?
Netgear’s Meural Canvas II is a 27-inch 1080p frame with a 30,000-piece membership library. In May 2024 the trade site ChannelNews reported that Netgear was winding Meural down; in November 2025 a Netgear moderator wrote on Netgear’s forum that the Canvas had not been discontinued and that there were no plans to remove the app. Netgear’s product page shows no price or buy option. See Meural alternatives for the full picture. If you own one and want living art on the wall it leaves behind, reserve a Layer Canvas: generative work rendered live, on a display built for it, with the artists paid every second it is seen.
What does Layer Curation offer?
$99 a month for over 250 works of digital fine art, hand-selected by Layer’s curators and developed with the artists, shown on the Layer Canvas. Much of the collection isliving art: code the Canvas runs live on its own GPU, so a work by Casey Reas, Zach Lieberman, Leander Herzog or JERES is being computed as you watch and never loops. Art Intelligence sequences the collection to the room and the time of day. You can adjust a work and keep your variant.
Artists earn royalties for every second their work is viewed. That is the model: the subscription pays the artist, the way streaming pays the musician. See the collection and, for commercial spaces, Layer for business.
Is Hisense CanvasTV a good Samsung Frame alternative?
On running cost, yes. Hisense says Art Mode includes free artworks (over 1,000, per its Facebook post), where the Frame puts its 4,000-piece Art Store behind $4.99 a month. Both sell a glare-reducing panel with an Art Mode. Hisense includes a teak frame and Samsung sells the bezel separately. For the art-when-off effect with nothing to pay each month, CanvasTV is the direct competitor.
On the art itself, it is the same proposition: a widescreen television playing files. Choosing between CanvasTV and the Frame is a television decision about panel, price and platform. It is not a decision about what kind of art you can live with.
Can you show generative art on a TV?
Only as a recording. Generative art is a program that produces its output as it runs, so showing it live needs a processor and a GPU on the display. A television has neither available to an artist, so the work has to be rendered to video first and then looped.
A looped render is a fixed length of footage. The work it came from was open-ended, responding to time of day, weather or the room. The Layer Canvas carries a 3.2 GHz CPU and GPU so that program runs on the wall and keeps generating, which is why it is a display rather than a television.
What is the best art TV?
For a television that shows art when it is off, the Samsung Frame is the established answer: the 2026 model is $1,499.99 at 65 inches at regular price, its Art Store carries over 4,000 pieces at $4.99 a month, and the glare-free finish does reduce reflection. Hisense CanvasTV is the same idea with free artworks included, per Hisense.
For art that runs rather than displays, no television is the answer, because a television is built to decode and replay a video signal. That is the line that separates this category in two, and which side you want decides the purchase more than any specification does.
Is an art TV worth it?
If the alternative is a black rectangle on the wall for twenty hours a day, yes. An art TV costs little more than an equivalent television and gives that surface something to do. Both the Frame and CanvasTV clear that bar.
If you are buying it as a way to live with art, the question changes. What you get is a library of reproductions on a screen shaped for film. Whether that is worth it depends on whether reproduction is what you wanted, which for many people it is.
What is the difference between an art TV and an art display?
An art TV is a television with a mode that shows pictures. It has a tuner, apps and speakers, and art is its secondary use.
An art display has no other job. The Layer Canvas has no tuner, no apps, no microphone, no camera and no speaker, and it carries a 3.2 GHz CPU and GPU so generative work is computed on the wall rather than played back. It is square, at 43.3 inches, because that is the ratio most digital artists compose to. Every design decision points one way, which is the difference.
Which art subscription should you choose?
Samsung Art Store is a picture library on a television. Hisense CanvasTV is a television with preloaded images. Blackdove is a screen, rectangular or square, streaming video art. Layer is living generative art, on a museum-grade square built for nothing else, curated for you and sequenced to your room, with the artists paid every second it is on your wall. Reserve a Canvas for a refundable $99.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the cheapest art subscription?
Samsung Art Store is $4.99 a month on a Frame TV, and Hisense says CanvasTV includes free artworks. Both are libraries of images on a television. Layer Curation is $99 a month for living generative art on a display built for it, with the artists paid as it is viewed.
Which art subscription pays the artists?
Layer pays artists ongoing royalties based on ViewTime, the seconds a work is displayed. Blackdove licenses works and sells some as NFTs. Samsung’s product page does not state how Art Store artists are paid.
Do I need a special display for an art subscription?
Samsung Art Store runs on The Frame and select other Samsung TVs. Blackdove works on its own canvases and other displays through its app. Layer Curation runs on the Layer Canvas, which has a GPU to render generative works live; a TV cannot execute that code.
What happened to Meural?
Netgear’s product page still lists the Meural Canvas II but shows no price or buy option. ChannelNews reported in May 2024 that Netgear was winding Meural down; in November 2025 a Netgear moderator wrote on Netgear’s forum that it had not been discontinued and the app would stay. The membership is still sold.
Is Layer Curation a subscription or a purchase?
A subscription, at $99 a month with a Canvas pre-order. The Canvas is $6,999 plus tax, reserved with a refundable $99 deposit, shipping in mid-2027 in the US. Founder Edition owners receive three years of Curation included.
Why subscribe to art instead of buying it?
A subscription gives you a collection that changes, curated and sequenced for you, with new work arriving and the artists paid as it is seen. Buying gives you one work. On Layer you can also keep the variants you make, so the collection is yours as much as theirs.
Sources
- Samsung, The Frame TVs listing (Art Store price and size in the FAQ): https://www.samsung.com/us/lifestyle-tvs/the-frame/, retrieved October 22, 2026
- Samsung, 65-inch The Frame LS03HE (2026) product page: https://www.samsung.com/us/lifestyle-tvs/the-frame/65-inch-the-frame-qled-4k-tv-ls03he-sku-qn65ls03hefxza/, retrieved October 22, 2026
- Samsung Newsroom, Art Store at Art Basel Paris 2026 (compatible TV models): https://news.samsung.com/global/samsung-art-store-unveils-curated-collection-from-art-basel-paris-2026, retrieved October 22, 2026
- Hisense, 65-inch S7 CanvasTV product page (sizes, teak frame included): https://www.hisense-usa.com/product-page/televisions-65-class-s7-canvastv-4k-qled-google-tv-65s7sg, retrieved October 22, 2026
- Hisense, Available now: Hisense CanvasTV (free Art Mode artworks): https://www.hisense-usa.com/post/available-now-hisense-canvastv-a-new-blend-of-art-and-technology, retrieved October 22, 2026
- Hisense USA on Facebook, 1,000+ masterpieces included free: https://www.facebook.com/hisenseusa/posts/get-1000-masterpieces-included-for-free-with-hisense-canvastv-our-hi-matte-displ/1527983008924598/, retrieved October 22, 2026
- Blackdove, Digital Canvas product page (sizes and prices): https://shop.blackdove.com/products/blackdove-digital-canvas, retrieved October 22, 2026
- Blackdove, Generative Media Player: https://shop.blackdove.com/products/blackdove-generative-media-player, retrieved October 22, 2026
- Netgear, Meural Canvas II product page: https://www.netgear.com/home/digital-art-canvas/mc327lw/, retrieved October 22, 2026
- Netgear Community, moderator reply on Meural status, November 24, 2025: https://community.netgear.com/discussions/en-home-networking-meural-canvas/looks-to-me-that-netgear-has-terminated-the-meural-devices%E2%80%A6-are-they-still-going/2470380/replies/2470388, retrieved October 22, 2026
- ChannelNews, Netgear Kills Off Meural Canvas, May 9, 2024: https://www.channelnews.com.au/exclusivenetgear-kills-off-meural-canvas/, retrieved October 22, 2026
- Layer, Canvas pre-order (price, deposit, specs, ship date): https://layer.com/canvas-preorder, retrieved October 22, 2026
- Layer, Curation: https://layer.com/curation, retrieved October 22, 2026